
The Banstead Image Library
ENTRANCE TO ST PETER'S CHURCH, WoodmansterneRECTORY LANE, , c1904
View towards the rebuilt church dating from 1877.
A Lych Gate was later erected here by John Henry Flowers as a memorial to those from the village who gave their lives in the 1914-18 War.
The list of names was later extended to include those who died in 1939-45 War.
Around 1960 the new north wing was added on this side.
To the left of here stood the former Mere Pond, which contributed to the village name.
Woodmansterne appears in the Domesday Book of 1086 as "Odemerestor", which derived from Anglo-Saxon "Ode" = (W)ode = Wood, "Mere" = Pond, and "Tor" = High ground.
maps.nls.uk/geo/explore/#zoom=17.1&lat=51.32458&lon=-0.16759&layers=257&b=1&o=100
Postcard was published by L. Eastland of Eastlands Farm which was off to the left down Rectory Lane, beyond the former National School and opposite The Old Rectory.
Picture added on 19 September 2024 at 10:30
This picture is in the following groups
No Group allocated
No Group allocated
External Links
Banstead History
Banstead History